Skip to content

Flemish Region Region Guide


The Flemish Region is a part of the official regions of Kingdom of Belgium. Other regions include Walloon Region and Brussels – Capital Region. The Flemish region lies in the northern part of Belgium. It covers an area of 13,533 km sq. as soon as the region got established it transferred all its constitutional powers to the Flemish Community. Thus at present the Flemish Parliament and Flemish government represent Flemish people. This includes souls living in the Brussels – Capital Region. Those members of the Flemish community who get elected from the Brussels – Capital Region do not have the right to vote in regards to the Flemish regional affairs.

The Flemish regions consists 5 provinces, which are Antwerp, Limburg, East Flanders, Flemish Brabant and West Flanders. Brussels is the capital of Flanders. Dutch is the official language of Flemish Region. However, French is also spoken by some people.

Antwerp is known for its diamond industry. It is also home to numerous tourist attractions which include Peter Paul Reubens house and garden, the art museums, and the railway cathedral. Antwerp City Hall and the Statue of Mythical hero Brabo is the highlight of Antwerp. It was constructed between 1561 and 1565. This renaissance building contains some shops where one can find artifacts.

Yet another city, Brugge in the Flemish Region is a beautifully kept city. Located in the northwestern part this city is home to about 120,000 souls only. Considered to be one of the richest cities in Europe, Brugge has wonderful historical buildings. It is also referred to as the Venice of North.
Read more

Flemish Region Cities and Areas

Latest Wiki Updates

Latest Flemish Region Trip Insights

There are no Flemish Region articles at this time.

Flemish Region Pictures


Simple stock market strategy for better returns