Built in the mid-19th century by King George V of Hanover as a birthday present for his wife, the Marienburg Castle is a Gothic revival landmark to the northwest of Hildesheim. It was designed by architect Conrad Wilhelm Hase and served as a summer seat for the House of Hanover and the House of Guelph whose yellow and white flag flies on the main tower.
The Marienburg Castle has remained relatively well preserved after being left un-inhabited for 80 years when the royal family went into exile during Hanover’s annexation by Prussia in 1866. The Duke of Brunswick and his wife moved into the castle in 1945 and their son, Prince Ernest Augustus IV opened the castle museum to the public in 1954.
Join a guided tour to explore the beautifully preserved historic rooms of the Ma-rienburg Castle and learn about King George V and his wife, Queen Marie, in the exhibition “Royal History and Stories”. Soak up the magnificent views of the River Leine and the historic landscapes of Calenberger from the main tower or opt for one of the special costumed tours led by Queen Frederica of Hanover, Princess Sophie Dorothy of Celle or Princess Mary of Hanover. The castle also hosts guided moonlight tours for those wanting to explore the Marienburg after dark and theatrical crime nights where mysterious murders take place, as well as dedicated children’s tours and school holiday programs.
The former horse stables of the Marienburg have been transformed into the Cas-tle Restaurant where you can grab a coffee and cake or indulge with their Sunday brunches that feature fresh, regional produce.