North Aegean Discovery Guide


The North Aegean region is one of the thirteen regions that make up the country of Greece. Primarily comprised of islands, this is situated just off the eastern coast of the Greek mainland. There are three prefectures that make up the North Aegean region, namely, Chios, Lesbos and Samos.

If you are traveling to the North Aegean region for the first time, the best place to start your itinerary is the island of Chios. Noted as the fifth largest islands surrounding the Greek mainland, this kidney-shaped island is situated just seven miles off the shore of the Asian Minor region. Although the island is predominantly mountainous, it holds a number of hidden treasures and wonders that are a thrill to be discovered by the inquisitive traveler. One of the hidden wonders of the island is the monastery of Nea Moni. Constructed in the eleventh century, this seemingly unimposing infrastructure holds a wealth of beautifully crafted mosaics which have been renowned as exquisite examples of Macedonian Renaissance art. Because of this, the monastery has been recognized as a UNESCO World Heritage Site since the year 1990.

From here, head out to the city of Mytilene in the neighboring islands of Lesbos. Here tourists can avail of a number of guided tours within the city to take them to archaeological sites such as the Sanctuary of Demeter which date back during the late Hellenistic period. Apart from the sanctuary, travelers are able to marvel at the magnificent artifacts, including oil lamps and terra cotta figurines which have been used to pay homage to the goddess Cybele.
Read more

North Aegean Cities and Areas

Latest North Aegean Trip Insights

There are no North Aegean articles at this time.

North Aegean Pictures

There are no North Aegean pictures at this time.

Top North Aegean Attractions