Skip to content

Thessaly Region Guide


Situated on the northern part of Greece, the region of Thessaly is one of the thirteen regions that make up the country. The region of Thessaly is bordered by the region of Macedonia on the north, Epirus to the west, central Greece on the south and the pristine Aegean Sea to the east. Thessaly was previously known as the land of Aeolia, which has been immortalized by the poet Homer in his epic The Odyssey. In fact, the region of Thessaly has commonly been referred to in many mythological stories. During the Hellenistic Period, it had been known as the home of the centaurs and one of the destinations Jason went to in his quest for the Golden Fleece.

Today, the region of Thessaly is one of the top tourist destinations for travelers wanting to experience the rich cultural heritage of the country. If you are planning to visit the country of Thessaly, the best place to start is the city of Volos, which had, coincidentally, been the starting point of Jason in his quest for the Golden Fleece. The city is known for its tapas bars and for its local spirit, tsipouro. From here, travel southeast to the Pelion Peninsula. Here you are transported back in time with the numerous houses and mansions surrounding churches which date back to the height of the Byzantine Empire. Make sure that you make time to head out west to the Meteora Mountains. Its mysterious pockmarked structure resembling natural pillars reaching out to the heavens have been the center of many legends and myths in the region.
Read more

Thessaly Cities and Areas

Latest Wiki Updates

Latest Thessaly Trip Insights

There are no Thessaly articles at this time.

Thessaly Pictures


Simple stock market strategy for better returns