Zurich Region Discovery Guide


The region of Zurich is located on the northeastern part of the country of Switzerland. It is bordered by the famous Swiss Alps and the canton of Schaffhausen to the north, Aargau on the west, Zug and Schwyz on the south, and Thurgau and St. Gallen to the east.

The region’s capital of Zurich has been recognized as the Cultural Capital of Switzerland and is known as one of the pre-eminent global cities all over the world. It is also known worldwide to be the wealthiest city in all of Europe and where one can be able to experience the highest quality of lifestyle there is.

Some other cities in the region include:

  • Baden

  • Horgen

  • Rapperswil-Jona

  • Winterthur

  • Zug

Because of its proximity to the spectacular Swiss Alps, the region of Zurich is home to some of the best ski resorts in this side of the world. Whether it is to enjoy an adventurous day at the slope or merely to take in the remarkable beauty of this majestic mountain range, a weekend to the Alps is one thing tourists should not miss out when traveling to Zurich. It is a good idea to book your travel reservations well ahead of time since the resorts and hotels that are situated right at the bottom of the Alps get filled up really fast.

While you are in Zurich, make sure that you do not miss the Zürifäscht festival. Held during the month of July, the festival is the largest public festival held in all of Switzerland offering tourists and locals never ending music, fireworks displays and a range of other attractions.
Read more

Zurich Region Cities and Areas

Latest Zurich Region Trip Insights

There are no Zurich Region articles at this time.

Zurich Region Pictures

There are no Zurich Region pictures at this time.