Skip to content
Alberta - Goparoo

Alberta

How to Get Around Alberta

Getting Around

Alberta is a driving province, and a big one: the Trans-Canada Highway (Highway 1) runs east–west through Calgary and into Banff over Kicking Horse Pass, the highest point on the whole Trans-Canada at 1,627 metres; the Queen Elizabeth II Highway (Highway 2) runs the 300 kilometres of the Calgary–Edmonton corridor, the busiest road in the province with over 150,000 vehicles a day; and the Icefields Parkway (Highway 93) links Banff and Jasper past the Columbia Icefield, maintained by Parks Canada. Canada drives on the right; the UK advisory notes a foreign licence may need a 1949 international driving permit and that hire firms often require one, a year's experience and a higher age, and warns that mountain highways in Alberta close for snowstorms and avalanches in winter, so a vehicle needs snow tyres and emergency supplies. Calgary and Edmonton have the province's two big airports -- Calgary the busiest in Alberta and fourth in Canada -- and Via Rail's Canadian crosses the province through Edmonton and Jasper twice a week, a scenic long-haul, not a commuter line.

The cities run their own transit. Calgary Transit's CTrain and buses cost C$4.00 an adult cash ride, valid 90 minutes, with children 12 and under free; Edmonton Transit is C$3 pay-as-you-go on an Arc card, capped at C$10.50 a day and C$102 a month, children free; and in the mountains Roam Transit links Banff, Canmore and the park sites from C$2 a ride, with a reservable Lake Louise express. The mountain parks have their own logic in summer: Moraine Lake Road is closed to private vehicles year-round, Lake Louise's lots fill before sunrise, and the way in is a Parks Canada shuttle (C$12.75 an adult plus a C$3.50 reservation), Roam Transit, or an arrival before dawn. Outside the national parks, vehicles parked at provincial-park and public-land sites in Kananaskis Country and the Bow Valley need a Kananaskis Conservation Pass, C$15 a day or C$90 a year.

Getting into the country needs an Electronic Travel Authorization for visa-exempt visitors flying in -- linked to the passport, valid up to five years, for stays normally up to six months, and not required to arrive by road; US citizens are exempt -- or a visa; apply only through the Government of Canada, since look-alike sites overcharge. The national parks charge C$12.25 a day for an adult, free for youth 17 and under, or C$83.50 for an annual Discovery Pass; the Banff Upper Hot Springs is C$19.75; the Royal Tyrrell Museum, Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump and the Royal Alberta Museum charge their own admissions; and the gondolas, the Columbia Icefield glacier tour and the Jasper SkyTram are run by Pursuit at prices their sites load in JavaScript and not stated here.

Verified against UK Government (GOV.UK; FCDO travel advice abroad), September 2026.

Entry

Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA): required for visa-exempt foreign nationals flying to or transiting a Canadian airport, linked to the passport, valid up to five years or until the passport expires, for stays normally up to six months; not needed to arrive by car, bus, train or boat; does not guarantee entry; US citizens are exempt. Others need a visitor visa. Apply only through canada.ca; unauthorised sites overcharge. Passport valid for the length of the stay. Declare currency of CAD$10,000 or more; cannabis may not cross the border in either direction.

Roads

Drive on the right. A foreign licence may need a 1949 international driving permit, and hire firms often require an IDP, a year's experience and a higher minimum age. Trans-Canada Highway 1 (Calgary–Banff, over Kicking Horse Pass at 1,627 m); Queen Elizabeth II Highway 2 (Calgary–Edmonton corridor, 150,000+ vehicles a day); Icefields Parkway 93 (Banff–Jasper, Parks Canada). Posted speed limits not stated (the provincial driving pages are unavailable). Mountain highways close in winter for snowstorms and avalanches; carry snow tyres and emergency supplies; watch for wildlife on rural roads at dawn and dusk.

City transit

Calgary Transit (CTrain + buses): adult cash C$4.00, valid 90 minutes; youth C$2.65; children 12 and under free. Edmonton Transit Service: adult C$3 pay-as-you-go on an Arc card (90 min), daily cap C$10.50, monthly cap C$102, cash C$3.75; children 12 and under free with a fare-paying rider. Roam Transit (Banff/Canmore): Banff local C$2 (day pass C$5), Canmore–Banff regional C$6 (day pass C$15), system-wide day pass C$30, children free; Lake Louise express reservable.

Mountain parks

National-park admission: adult C$12.25 a day, senior C$10.75, youth 17 and under free, family/group of up to seven C$24.50; Elk Island C$10 adult. Discovery Pass (80+ places, 12 months): adult C$83.50, family/group C$167.50. Banff Upper Hot Springs: adult C$19.75, senior/youth C$17.25, under 3 free. Lake Louise / Moraine Lake: Moraine Lake Road closed to private vehicles year-round; Lake Louise lakeshore parking C$42 a vehicle and full before sunrise; Parks Canada shuttle adult C$12.75 plus a C$3.50 online reservation fee; Roam Transit and Lake Louise transit also serve them, June to mid-October. Kananaskis Conservation Pass (provincial land in Kananaskis and the Bow Valley): C$15 a day, C$90 a year for up to three vehicles. The Canada Strong Pass free admission ended 7 September 2026; regular fees apply.

Museums and sites

Royal Tyrrell Museum, Drumheller: daily 9 a.m.–9 p.m. 15 May–31 Aug (no entry after 8), Tuesday–Sunday 10–5 the rest of the year, closed most Mondays. Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump: adult C$18, senior C$14, youth 7–17 C$11, family C$45, under 7 and Canadian military free; open year-round, summer daily 10–5, winter Wednesday–Sunday; allow two hours. Royal Alberta Museum, Edmonton: adult C$25, senior C$16, youth 7–17 C$12, family C$55, under 7 free; Wednesday–Sunday, Thursday to 8, closed Monday and Tuesday. Banff Gondola, Columbia Icefield glacier tour and Jasper SkyTram (Pursuit), West Edmonton Mall, Calgary Zoo, Heritage Park, Fort Edmonton Park and the Calgary Tower: prices not stated (their sites load them in JavaScript).

Air and rail

Calgary International (the busiest in Alberta, fourth in Canada) and Edmonton International (the largest in Canada by land area). Via Rail's Canadian crosses the province through Edmonton and Jasper twice a week; the Jasper–Prince Rupert train runs three times a week; both are scenic, not commuter, and fares are not stated (rendered by script).

Emergency numbers

911 for police, fire and ambulance; Health Link 811 for 24/7 health advice; 310-FIRE (310-3473) to report a wildfire.

Verified against Government of Canada, September 2026.

← Back to Alberta overview