Set across seven hills where the Regnitz and Main rivers meet, Bamberg is home to a UNESCO World Heritage-listed Old Town that has been beautifully preserved. It comprises three historical districts - the episcopal town, the island town and the market gardener’s town - with structures that date from the 11th to 19th centuries. Bamberg is affectionately known as the “Rome of Franconia” and served as a center of imperial and episcopal power for around 1,000 years.
The design of the town is set around five churches laid out in the form of a Latin cross. Be sure to visit the Bamberg Cathedral that stands atop a hill overlooking the city and dates to the 11th century. It features four soaring towers and the famous Fürstentor (Prince's Doorway) depicting apostles and prophets. The cathedral enshrines the tomb of Henry II, his wife Kunigunde and Pope Clemence II and is home to the iconic Bamberger Reiter (Bamberg Horseman) that was erected in 1240 and is thought to represent King Stephen of Hungary.
The Baroque-style New Palace and Alte Hofhaltung Palace line Domplatz (Cathedral Square), while the Brückenrathaus rose garden offers magnificent views of the Old Town. On an island in the Regnitz River is the famous Altes Rathaus (Town Hall), which is reached along two arched bridges. In addition to its well-preserved Old Town, Bamberg is home to a historic fishing village known as Little Venice and renowned for its smoked beer that can be sampled in one of the many breweries that dot the town.