Featuring historic steam locomotives and coaches, the Rügen narrow-gauge railway chugs its way from Putbus to Göhren on the island of Rügen. The first stretch of the railway was originally opened in 1895, with the network being extended to more than 100 kilometers by the end of the 19th century. The Rügensche BäderBahn railway (nicknamed the “Rushing Roland”) is all that remains of this former narrow gauge railway, allowing visitors to explore the magnificent countryside of southeast Rügen in vintage comfort.Admire the natural beauty of Rügen as you soak up views of the Granitz hills and spot stork eyries in Posewald, with the option to hop on and off along the route to visit Rügen’s historic residences and spa towns. Those wanting to explore on two wheels can bring their bicycles with them, with a dedicated storage area behind the locomotive.
The railway has changed hands multiple times since it was founded by the Rügensche Kleinbahn-Aktiengesellschaft in the late 19th century. Its operation was taken over by the Pomeranian State Railways following the outbreak of World War II before being operated by the East German State Railway from 1949. In 1996, it came under the care of the Rügensche Kleinbahn who manage it as a tourist railway today.
Originally the railway used Lenz Class steam locomotives but over time, locomo-tives from other railways were also used. Today the railway uses privately-owned steam engines and diesel locomotives, including a former military Köfs locomotive of the Heeresfeldbahn and a newer locomotive from the Mansfeld Mining Railway.