Serving as the former residence of the Dukes of Saxe-Weimar and Eisenach, the Stadtschloss Weimar is a lavish palace on the edge of Ilm Park. Originally established as a medieval moated castle in the 10th century, it was reconstructed multiple times following fires before being rebuilt as a Baroque palace in the 17th century. Its Schlosskirche saw the premiere of numerous works by Johann Sebastian Bach during the early 18th century but the palace was completely destroyed by fire in 1774, with the current Neoclassical structure built in the following years.
Join a guided tour to explore the historic chambers of the Stadtschloss Weimar, with many of the rooms decorated with original furnishings and art pieces dating from the Middle Ages. Works by Caspar David Friedrich, Auguste Rodin and Max Beckman are on display, together with significant works by Lucas Cranach and items from Maria Pavlovna’s dowry.
The Stadtschloss Weimar forms part of the “Classical Weimar” UNESCO World Heritage Site that recognizes the significant role the city played during the late-18th and early-19th centuries. It was home to creative giants such as Goethe, Schiller, Bach, Liszt and Cranach, with many of these artists honored through street names, museums and beautifully-preserved houses in the city.
The UNESCO site of Weimar includes the 18th-century Goethe’s House and Schiller’s House, as well as the St. Peter and Paul Church. Schloss Belvedere is also of note, having been built as a Baroque summer residence for Duke Ernst August and now housing a museum where Classic-period arts and crafts, furniture and architecture designs are exhibited.