Officially titled Palazzo Santa Sofia, the Ca’ d’Oro (or “Golden House”) is one of Venice’s oldest palaces on the Grand Canal. It was nicknamed due to the gilt and polychrome decorations that once adorned the walls, with delicate marble filigree by Bartolomeo Bon on the façade that would have made an undeniably impressive vision.
Ca' d'Oro (Palazzo Santa Sofia)Last updated on
The Ca’ d’Oro was built by architects Giovanni Bon and his son, Bartolomeo Bon, between 1428 and 1430 for the wealthy Contarini family. It changed ownership numerous times following the Venetian Republic's fall in 1797, with the ballet dancer Marie Taglioni and the baron Giorgio Franchetti both once owning it. Franchetti conducted extensive restorations of the palace, including the reconstruction of a Gothic stairway that Marie Taglioni had removed, and adorned its walls in his private art collection of Venetian masters.
A gift to the Italian state and publicIn 1916 Franchetti gave the Ca' d'Oro to the state, enabling public access to Venetian history's beautiful landmark. It is considered one of the finest remaining examples of Venetian Gothic architecture and provides a fascinating insight into wealthy Venetians' lives during the 15th and 16th centuries.
Visiting information and tips
Take the time to admire the floral Gothic ornamentations on the façade of the Ca' d'Oro that faces the Grand Canal, which is similar to the nearby Palazzo Barbaro and the Palazzo Giustinian. A colonnaded loggia leads into the grand entrance hall, with columns and arches along with the enclosed balcony, while the works of Titian, Van Dyck and Bernini adorn the walls.